In the beginning….

Skin Chic Inc. Picture

Hello out there in blog-land!!!

I have been told that I needed to start a blog, yet another tentacle out there in cyber space linking my two pages on Facebook, my personal Facebook page, my Twitter account and lastly my web site. It all seemed like more work but I really think this could end up being therapy for me, a diary of sorts. I might not be known especially for my writing but this doesn’t stop me having something to say and blogging is the perfect vehicle. So now I’m here and just like you, I’m hungry for knowledge.

By trade, I am a licensed Paramedical Aesthetician, throw in a little singing and there you have it. But let me stop right there because I realize not too many people understand what “Paramedical” means. Paramedical means that not only do I have advanced training hours outside of specific Esthiology but I also have an internship with a Plastic Surgeon and Dermatologist. This training has given me a complete understanding of what skin conditions like Psoriasis, Rosecia and Eczema, the specific histology of the skin that goes with these conditions and what to do to minimize, control and treat each patient. I just love to help others with skin issues. I am a survivor of a skin condition called Cystic Acne. I literally stuck to my pillowcase at night, not only was it painful for my face, the pain went much deeper than that. After three rounds of Accutaine and some wonderful facials from a Paramedical Aesthetician, a passion grew deep inside to help others with similar skin troubles.

I am also a Professional Makeup Artist. This started from sitting on my mother’s floor watching her get ready to go out. I was fascinated by how a face could look so different, so colorful and so beautiful after one hour of work. I was transfixed and from there a seed was sown. I love make up, it is so easy for me, so natural. I can see a women’s face and know just what to do to make her natural beauty shine. I love for the light bulb to go on and then when I am finished for them to look into the mirror. The smile, the hug, the appreciation makes it all the while. That makes everything well in my world…. and theirs.

As you follow my blog, I ask you to open both your mind and your heart. I will be tearing down the beauty myths we all grew up with and sharing with you some of the wonderful stories from my 20 year career together with some helpful hints along the way. So join me, I am humbled to do this and looking forward to the therapy that awaits not only me but you too!

7 thoughts on “In the beginning….

  1. Wow! I am so impressed! Seems so funny that many, many years ago you were working at a cosmetics counter in Daytons. You have come so far. Way to go Jennifer! Wish I lived closer, my skin can always use some extra TLC. Take care. hugs, Kelly

I would appreciate a Reply

