Tis the Season…

Tis the Season for SPF…

Tis the season to be beautiful, properly cleansed and well protected with a sun protection factor of at least 15. This time of year, even though it is cold outside the sun is still shining and with that the snow reflects it’s damaging rays. Always remember your Sunscreen no matter the weather.

Personally I like to get my SPF from my makeup. I get questions about makeup all the time on my Skin Chic Inc. Facebook page, what I use and where my loyalties lie. I use a mineral makeup line for both my practice and my personal use. There are many lines out there and very few are made alike. I have used Jane Iredale since 1996 when I worked alongside her at a Philadelphia Aesthetics Trade Show. Jane herself turned to me and said, “You remind me of myself when I was your age.

“Wow, that changed my life, and my loyalties! It was an added bonus that the minerals were amazing too. Jane Iredale was the very first mineral line ever to be patented. She was simply the pioneer in minerals and as a result I have continued to use her powders for my foundation and SPF ever since.

I know many other lines out there as well, one I personally helped to develop was the GloMinerals mineral makeup line from Caleel+Hayden www.glotherapeutics.com . You would assume that if I helped develop a makeup line that I would be loyal to them. Not the case, I much prefer Jane’s products. Makeup is personal and it’s emotional and with that I make my own choice.

Some experts say that primarily wearing your SPF in your makeup is a mistake, that it wears off and it doesn’t last. I agree, that is why I reapply every few hours. But don’t get me wrong I still use an SPF moisturizer when I know I will be outside for hours that day. This has always worked for me. I also love Rany James LaBrecque’s line Rande James, check them out at www.randejames.com

The moral of this blog is that no matter the time of year and whatever the weather wear your sunscreen. Merry Christmas to you and your choice!

I would appreciate a Reply

