What Grade Does Your Makeup Get?

Whay Grade Are Yur Products?There is a HUGE difference between over the counter products and professional products. Effectively it all boils down to how you get the products, did a woman behind a fancy department store counter help you, did you get a facial with an Aesthetician and did she recommended it to you? Believe it or not, there is a huge difference between the two.

There are three different grades of makeup to choose from, over the counter, professional or medical. Let’s look at them in a little more detail.

Eye Makeup

Everything you are able to use on your face is regulated by the FDA and the percentage of active ingredients in the product will determine just how you can buy it. Over the counter (OTC) constitutes less than 2% of active ingredients. You can acquire these products by means of TV, radio, department stores, grocery stores, beauty consultants (working with a MLM line) CVS, Walgreens etc. The products aren’t strong enough to hurt your skin providing you use them correctly. Many of my clients are happy with their products and being a professional I respect their choice. However, I think it all depends on what your expectations are, if a client is really happy using an OTC product then that’s good. Personally I’m happy to let my facials speak for themselves as my main focus is my client’s satisfaction.

Professional: 2% and higher, up to 10% of active ingredients. The professional has a license and education that pertains to application and you can find these products in a salon, spa, dermatologist and plastic surgeon’s office.  As these products are result orientated the focus and motivation behind the product is change. But for real change you’ll need a higher active ingredient in the product .

Medical: 10% and higher of active ingredients. This is a prescription product only. The doctor prescribes the product for real change but it is mainly the patients who receive prescriptions for skin conditions and diseases.

I hope this sheds some light on the subject. If you’re confused and want personal attention in this matter then I’d be happy to help you. I conduct a comprehensive 2 1/2 hour appointment in the comfort of a woman’s home, a one on one with emphasis on my clients concerns together with any questions they might have. This is a great opportunity to examine the makeup and skincare she has in her drawers and is currently using. I go though their makeup and pitch the old, dated, wrong and expired. Believe me there are a lot of crazy things in a woman’s purse, I can understand why men are afraid of them. I then give suggestions for positive changes.

Although Mary Kay started this idea I approach it from a slightly different perspective  where my focus is on education not sales. I also do a step by step makeup application with a detailed instruction. The makeup is removed and my client can then apply the makeup herself with further instruction. I will demonstrate the most progressive techniques in makeup application and teach you how to accentuate the positive and eliminate the negative.

After I leave clients are so happy that they ask me to do closets, kitchens and garages…but I think I’ll just stay with what I know. I do love what I do especially when I see the proverbial light bulb go on when a client figures out her daily regime and gets the look she is needing. It is magical!

When it comes to products ask yourself a simple question, are you happy with it and is it helping you? Are you getting results? If not then I suggest you go up a grade level. It can make all the difference in your skin! I love and recommend Randy James LeBrecque’s line Rande James… check it out www.randejames.com and GloTherapeutics http://www.glotherapeutics.com !

If you are interested in any further information or would like a consultation then please visit www.skinchicinc.com for my number and special pricing, mention my blog and receive 10% off.

 

A+

I would appreciate a Reply

